Home

Physics
Notes
Homework problems
Example Labs
Energy, work, and temperature
Still no free lunch

Energy, power, and albedo
Fossilized sunlight
Albedo
Heat capacity
Ocean temperatures
Heat capacity
Thermal conductivity
Playing with Lava
Thermal conductivity
Phase changes: PSE Chapter 20 Pages 611-615
A watched pot eventually boils
Boiling water

Project

1) The fridge project analysis questions.
The electricless refrigerator
Example designs
The botijo
The zeer pot

Calendar



What
When
1. Show video on recharging batteries with batteries:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=brdmnUBAS00
Introduce the idea of energy and energy conservation.
2. Show video on the bowling ball pendulum:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ihqtWdTdGAw&feature=related
3. MIT demonstration on kinematic energy conservation:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L2mdAvdPhT4
4. In class work on Energy1 and PSE Chapter 19 Page 595 #1, Page 596 #3, 4, 6

5. Refer to the potential energy shirt:http://www.cafepress.com/+im_not_lazy_long_sleeve_tshirt,40325716
6. Leidenfrost effect: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gjsMV1MglA4&feature=related
7. Superfluid helium: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Z6UJbwxBZI
8. Superconducting magnets: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSiQbyUyOlY
9. Homework: Still no free lunch
Section 1: Thursday 29 August 2013 (10:55 - 12:10)
Section 2: Thursday 29 August 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
Section 3: Wednesday 28 August 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
1. Check HW: Still no free lunch
2. Introduction to albedo
3. Albedo in the arctic: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9UJKVa2ClCU&feature=related
4. Albedo in the arctic: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSDCtcMfqRQ&feature=related
5. Geoengineering and artificial global cooling: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fg7J8P-uXqM
6. Discuss how to perform an albedo lab (Example: Albedo)
7. Homework: Fossilized sunlight
Section 1: Tuesday 3 September 2013 (8:30 - 9:45)
Section 2: Wednesday 4 September 2013 (1:00 - 2:15)
Section 3: Thursday 29 August 2013 (1:00 - 2:15)
1. Check homework: Fossilized sunlight
2. Start running Albedo Lab
Section 1: Wednesday 4 September 2013 (2:20 - 3:35)
Section 2: Friday 6 September 2013 (12:45 - 2:00)
Section 3: Friday 6 September 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
1. Finish running Albedo Lab
2. Lab writeup due a week after data collection is finished.
Section 1: Tuesday 10 September 2013 (10:55 - 12:10)
Section 2: Tuesday 10 September 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
Section 3: Monday 9 September 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
1. Review lab questions for Albedo Lab
2. Introduction to heat capacity
3. Discuss how to perform heat capacity lab (Example: Heat capacity)
4. Homework: Ocean temperatures
Section 1: Wednesday 11 September 2013 (8:30 - 9:45)
Section 2: Thursday 12 September 2013 (1:00 - 2:15)
Section 3: Tuesday 10 September 2013 (1:00 - 2:15)
1. Check homework: Ocean temperatures
2. Run heat capacity lab
Section 1: Thursday 12 September 2013 (2:20 - 3:35)
Section 2: Friday 13 September 2013 (12:45 - 2:00)
Section 3: Friday 13 September 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
1. Finish heat capacity lab
2. Lab writeup due a week after data collection is finished.
Section 1: Tuesday 17 September 2013 (10:55 - 12:10)
Section 2: Tuesday 17 September 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
Section 3: Monday 16 September 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
1. Discuss analysis questions from heat capacity lab
2. Introduction to thermal conductivity
3. Discuss how to perform thermal conductivity lab (Example:conductivity lab)
4. Homework: Playing with Lava
Section 1: Wednesday 18 September 2013 (8:30 - 9:45)
Section 2: Thursday 19 September 2013 (1:00 - 2:15)
Section 3: Tuesday 17 September 2013 (1:00 - 2:15)
1. Check homework: Playing with Lava
2. Start thermal conductivity lab
Section 1: Thursday 19 September 2013 (2:20 - 3:35)
Section 2: Friday 20 September 2013 (12:45 - 2:00)
Section 3: Friday 20 September 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
1. Finish thermal conductivity lab.
2. Lab writeup due a week after data collection is finished.
Section 1: Tuesday 24 September 2013 (10:55 - 12:10)
Section 2: Tuesday 24 September 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
Section 3: Monday 23 September 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
1. Discuss analysis questions from thermal conductivity lab
2. Introduction to phase changes PSE Chapter 20 Pages 611-615
3. Discuss how to perform phase changes lab
4. Homework: A watched pot eventually boils
Section 1: Wednesday 25 September 2013 (8:30 - 9:45)
Section 2: Thursday 26 September 2013 (1:00 - 2:15)
Section 3: Tuesday 24 September 2013 (1:00 - 2:15)
1. Review phase changes homework
2. Start phase changes lab
Section 1: Thursday 26 September 2013 (2:20 - 3:35)
Section 2: Friday 27 September 2013 (12:45 - 2:00)
Section 3: Friday 27 September 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
1. Finish phase changes lab.
2. Lab writeup due a week after data collection is finished.
Section 1: Tuesday 1 October 2013 (10:55 - 12:10)
Section 2: Tuesday 1 October 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
Section 3: Monday 30 September 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
1. Review phase changes lab
2. Introduce refrigerator project (Examples: The electricless refrigerator and Example designs )
3. Homework: Get any additional materials you want for your refrigerator.
Section 1: Wednesday 2 October 2013 (8:30 - 9:45)
Section 2: Thursday 3 October 2013 (1:00 - 2:15)
Section 3: Tuesday 1 October 2013 (1:00 - 2:15)
1. Refrigeration project day 2
Section 1: Thursday 3 October 2013 (2:20 - 3:35)
Section 2: Friday 4 October 2013 (12:45 - 2:00)
Section 3: Friday 4 October 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
1. Refrigeration project day 3
Section 1: Tuesday 8 October 2013 (10:55 - 12:10)
Section 2: Tuesday 8 October 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
Section 3: Monday 7 October 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
1. Refrigeration project day 4
Section 1: Wednesday 9 October 2013 (8:30 - 9:45)
Section 2: Thursday 10 October 2013 (1:00 - 2:15)
Section 3: Tuesday 8 October 2013 (1:00 - 2:15)
1. Refrigeration project day 5
Section 1: Thursday 10 October 2013 (2:20 - 3:35)
Section 2: Thursday 17 October 2013 (12:35 - 1:30)
Section 3: Wednesday 16 October 2013 (12:35 - 1:30)
1. Refrigeration project day 6
Section 1: Thursday 17 October 2013 (1:35 - 2:30)
Section 2: Friday 18 October 2013 (12:45 - 2:00)
Section 3: Friday 18 October 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
1. Refrigeration project day 7
Section 1: Tuesday 22 October 2013 (10:55 - 12:10)
Section 2: Tuesday 22 October 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
Section 3: Monday 21 October 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)
1. Refrigeration project day 8
Section 1: Wednesday 23 October 2013 (8:30 - 9:45)
Section 2: Thursday 24 October 2013 (1:00 - 2:15)
Section 3: Tuesday 22 October 2013 (1:00 - 2:15)
1. Refrigeration project day 9
Section 1: Thursday 24 October 2013 (2:20 - 3:35)
Section 2: Friday 25 October 2013 (12:45 - 2:00)
Section 3: Friday 25 October 2013 (9:35 - 10:50)