Home
Physics

Notes
Homework
Labs
Stefan-Boltzmann Law
Quantum 1
Invisible glowing
Planck Radiation Formula
Wien's displacement Law
Quantum 2
Visible glowing

What
When
1. Introduce the transition from thermodynamics and gas laws to introductory quantum mechanics.
2. Introduction to the Stefan-Boltzmann Law
3. Homework due next class: Quantum 1
Section 1: Tuesday 7 January 2014 (10:55am - 12:10pm)
Section 2: Tuesday 7 January 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
Section 3: Monday 6 January 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. Go over Quantum 1
2. Introduce the setup for the lab on the Stefan-Boltzmann Law: Invisible glowing
Section 1: Wednesday 8 January 2014 (8:30am - 9:45am)
Section 2: Thursday 9 January 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
Section 3: Tuesday 7 January 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
1. Run lab on the Stefan-Boltzmann Law: Invisible glowing
2. Lab report due a week after last data is collected.
Section 1: Thursday 9 January 2014 (2:20pm - 3:35pm)
Section 2: Friday 10 January 2014 (12:45pm - 2:00pm)
Section 3: Friday 10 January 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. Introduction to the Planck Radiation Formula
2. Homework due next class: Quantum 2
Section 1: Tuesday 14 January 2014 (10:55am - 12:10pm)
Section 2: Tuesday 14 January 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
Section 3: Monday 13 January 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. Go over Quantum 2
2. Introduce Wien's displacement Law
Section 1: Wednesday 15 January 2014 (8:30am - 9:45am)
Section 2: Thursday 16 January 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
Section 3: Tuesday 14 January 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
1. Review Wien's displacement Law
2. Introduce the setup for the lab on Wien's displacement law: Visible glowing
Section 1: Thursday 16 January 2014 (2:20pm - 3:35pm)
Section 2: Friday 17 January 2014 (12:45pm - 2:00pm)
Section 3: Friday 17 January 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. Run lab on Wien's displacement law: Visible glowing
2. Lab report due a week after last data is collected.
Section 1: Tuesday 21 January 2014 (10:55am - 12:10pm)
Section 2: Tuesday 21 January 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
Section 3: Tuesday 21 January 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
1. Introduce solar surface temperature project: How hot is the surface of the Sun?
2. Day 1 of project
Project due Friday 7 February at midnight
Section 1: Wednesday 22 January 2014 (8:30am - 9:45am)
Section 2: Thursday 23 January 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
Section 3: Friday 24 January 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. Day 2 of project
Section 1: Thursday 23 January 2014 (2:20pm - 3:35pm)
Section 2: Friday 24 January 2014 (12:45pm - 2:00pm)
Section 3: Monday 27 January 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. Day 3 of project
Section 1: Tuesday 28 January 2014 (10:55am - 12:10pm)
Section 2: Tuesday 28 January 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
Section 3: Tuesday 28 January 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
1. Day 4 of project
Section 1: Wednesday 29 January 2014 (8:30am - 9:45am)
Section 2: Tuesday 4 February 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
Section 3: Monday 3 March 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. Day 5 of project
Section 1: Tuesday 4 February 2014 (10:55am - 12:10pm)
Section 2: Thursday 6 February 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
Section 3: Tuesday 6 February 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
1. Day 6 of project
Project due Friday 7 February at midnight
Section 1: Wednesday 5 February 2014 (8:30am - 9:45am)
Section 2: Friday 7 February 2014 (12:45pm - 2:00pm)
Section 3: Friday 7 February 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)


Project

How hot is the surface of the Sun?