Home

Physics

Course notes

Notes
Homework
Labs
Refraction and Snell's Law: Pages 1102 - 1106
Dispersion: Pages 1109 - 1111
Chapter 35 problems: 12, 15, 16, 17
Dispersion
Light Intensity and Distance: Hyperphysics
Light intensity and distance
Light intensity and distance
Optical Absorption: Hyperphysics

Absorption
Diffraction
Chapter 37 problems: 1, 2, 5, 7
Diffraction


Benchmark project

1) How thick is the Earth's atmosphere?
Factors and assumptions in measuring the Earth's atmosphere.

What
When
1. Introduction to refraction.
2. Notes: Pages 1102 - 1106
3. Introduce dispersion.
4. Notes: Pages 1109 - 1111
5. In-class work on Chapter 35 problems: 12, 15, 16, 17
Section 1: Tuesday 11 February 2014 (10:55am - 12:10pm)
Section 2: Tuesday 11 February 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
Section 3: Monday 10 February 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. Set up dispersion lab
2. Run dispersion lab: Dispersion
3. Report due midnight a week after taking data
Section 1: Wednesday 12 February 2014 (8:30am - 9:45am)
Section 2: Thursday 13 February 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
Section 3: Tuesday 11 February 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
1. Introduction to light intensity and distance.
2. Notes: Hyperphysics
3. Homework (due next class): Light intensity and distance
Section 1: Thursday 13 February 2014 (2:20pm - 3:35pm)
Section 2: Friday 14 February 2014 (12:45pm - 2:00pm)
Section 3: Friday 14 February 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. Review homework
2. Introduce light intensity and distance lab: Light intensity and distance
Section 1: Wednesday 19 February 2014 (8:30am - 9:45am)
Section 2: Thursday 20 February 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
Section 3: Tuesday 18 February 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. Run light intensity and distance lab.
2. Report due by midnight a week after taking data
Section 1: Thursday 20 February 2014 (2:20pm - 3:35pm)
Section 2: Friday 21 February 2014 (12:45pm - 2:00pm)
Section 3: Friday 21 February 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. Introduction to optical absorption
2. Start optical absorption lab
3. Lab: Absorption
Section 1: Tuesday 25 February 2014 (10:55am - 12:10pm)
Section 2: Tuesday 25 February 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
Section 3: Monday 24 February 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. Continue with optical absorption lab.
2. Finish optical absorption lab in class.
3. Derive the optical absorption formula.
4. Report due by midnight a week after taking data.
Section 1: Wednesday 26 February 2014 (8:30am - 9:45am)
Section 2: Thursday 27 February 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
Section 3: Tuesday 25 February 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
1. Introduction to diffraction
2. Notes: Diffraction
3. Homework (due the following class): Chapter 37 problems: 1, 2, 5, 7
Section 1: Thursday 27 February 2014 (2:20pm - 3:35pm)
Section 2: Friday 28 February 2014 (12:45pm - 2:00pm)
Section 3: Friday 28 February 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. In class work on optical absorption lab.
Section 1: Tuesday 4 March 2014 (10:55am - 12:10pm)
Section 2: Tuesday 4 March 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
Section 3: Monday 3 March 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. Review homework
2. Introduce diffraction lab: Diffraction
Section 1: Thursday 6 March 2014 (2:20pm - 3:35pm)
Section 2: Thursday 6 March 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
Section 3: Tuesday 4 March 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
1. Diffraction lab.
2. Report due by midnight a week after taking data.
Section 1: Tuesday 11 March 2014 (10:55am - 12:10pm)
Section 2: Friday 7 March 2014 (12:45pm - 2:00pm)
Section 3: Friday 7 March 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. Day 1 of astronomy project: How thick is the Earth's atmosphere?
Project due on midnight of the 21st of March.
Section 1: Wednesday 12 March 2014 (8:30am - 9:45am)
Section 2: Tuesday 11 March 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
Section 3: Monday 10 March 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. Day 2 of astronomy project
Section 1: Thursday 13 March 2014 (2:20pm - 3:35pm)
Section 2: Thursday 13 March 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
Section 3: Tuesday 11 March 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
1. Day 3 of astronomy project
Section 1: Tuesday 18 March 2014 (10:55am - 12:10pm)
Section 2: Friday 14 March 2014 (12:45pm - 2:00pm)
Section 3: Friday 14 March 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. Day 4 of astronomy project
Section 1: Wednesday 19 March 2014 (8:30am - 9:45am)
Section 2: Tuesday 18 March 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
Section 3: Monday 17 March 2014 (9:35am - 10:50am)
1. Day 5 of astronomy project
Section 1: Thursday 20 March 2014 (2:20pm - 3:35pm)
Section 2: Thursday 20 March 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)
Section 3: Tuesday 18 March 2014 (1:00pm - 2:15pm)